Tutorial Tuesday: Christmas Wreath

Something to create now so it will be ready in time for Christmas decorating is this easy to do yarn wreath!

Need:

  • Styrofoam round wreath (or any shape you like)
  • Yarn in your color choice ( I chose this fluffy red yarn I liked)
  • Scrapbook paper to coordinate with your wreath (for the letters)
  • Mini Clothes Pins
  • Twine
  • Felt (optional)

Directions:

  1. Take your yarn and tie a knot around your styrofoam, and then start wrapping and winding, wrapping and winding. Yup, it takes a little patience to get around the wreath. Nothing you can’t do while watching “Grey’s Anatomy” 🙂

2.  Tie off when you get all the way around the wreath.

3.  Measure approximate length of twine, cut, and tie the ends around your wreath.

4.  I used my Silhouette Machine to cut out the letters, but you can always just print them out in a word program, trace them onto some scrapbook paper and cut them out!

5.  Take your mini clothes pins and use them to hold up your letters!

6.  I then added some felt flowers based on this tutorial but not sure what I’m liking….what’s your opinion?

                            Option 1                                                      Option 2

                     Option 3

Hang it on up and enjoy!

Linked to Today’s Creative Blog; These Creative Juices; A Silly Little Sparrow; All Thingz Related; The Pumpkin Patch; Lucky Star Lane; Creative Itch; Delicious Ambiguity; Hope Studios; New Nostalgia; Sugar Bee; Creations By Kara; Sew Much Ado; My Backyard Eden; Someday Crafts; Me and My Bucket; The Shabby Chic Cottage; Somewhat Simple; Fireflies and Jellybeans; Ponytails and Fishscales; It’s Sew Stinkin Cute; House of the Hepworths; Black Kats Design; Life As Lori; Fingerprints on the Fridge; Fun to Craft; The Shabby Nest; Finding Fabulous; Frou Frou Decor; A Little Lovely; I Heart Naptime; Kuzak’s Closet; Under The Table and Dreaming; Skip To My Lou; Keeping It Simple; The Girl Creative; Sumo’s Sweet Stuff; Chic On A Shoestring; Brambleberry Cottage; Cheap Chic Home; Paisley Passions; Craft-O-Maniac; Craftaholics Anonymous; Between Naps On The Porch; Coastal Charm; Tales From Bloggeritaville; Making The World Cuter; Mad In Crafts; Tidy Mom; Just A Girl; It’s So Very Cheri; Beyond the Picket Fence; A Few of My Favorite Things
This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Tutorial Tuesday: Christmas Wreath

  1. angie says:

    Cute! I am going to do this this weekend. We have snow now so I am now totally in the Christmas decorating spirit 🙂

  2. Kelly says:

    Option 3 is my favorite. Very cute wreathe!

  3. Very cute and original! I like this!

  4. Thanks so much for coming to my PARTY with these cute Christmas wreaths!

    Blessings,
    Linda

    Christmas is right around the corner…hop over to enter my gift card GIVEAWAY…WIN some Christmas cash!

  5. Mandy says:

    Thanks for linking to TAke-A-Look Tuesday over at Sugar Bee Craft Edition – I featured you today! – – Mandy, http://www.craftedition.blogspot.com

  6. Mindy says:

    I like option 2 with that little splash of green! What a pretty and fun wreath!

    Thanks for sharing it–found you through BCD.

    http://im-in-the-loop.blogspot.com/

  7. Holly Young says:

    Hi! Visiting from Make it Yours Day! 🙂 I love this yarn wreath! We have a red front door so I’m always looking for cute seasonal things to draw attention to it! Thinking about adding this to my “list” of Christmas options! Thanks for sharing!!!!

  8. I like option 3! Such a cute idea and not hard at all!

  9. I love your wreaths, very creative. Hi, I am following from Keepin’ Company Thursday. Hope you can visit my blog.

    http://www.jamfiescreations1.blog spot.com

    Mary O

  10. Your wreath has a lot of fun elements, nice!

  11. Bonnie says:

    I love the idea of the mini clothes pins holding the letters “JOY”, you could easily change the words. Cute idea!

  12. Coley says:

    Adorable! Option 2 is my fave.

  13. What a fun and “simple to make” decoration! With my hectic life, I really like simple. 😉

    Thanks for linking to my party. It’s fun to see what you link up each week.

    Blessings,
    Liz @ the Brambleberry Cottage
    http://thebrambleberrycottage.blogspot.com

  14. Love the yarn – super cute – and the clothespins are adorable! Thanks so much for joining the Sunday Showcase – I greatly appreciate it. I have featured this today – stop by and grab a featured button if you like. Hope you have a fabulous week ~ Stephanie Lynn

  15. Beth@A2Z says:

    Totally sweet wreath!

  16. I like option 2 or 3 best, but I think those particular flowers make it look more Spring-y, rather than Christmassy, despite the colors. If you could make the flowers removable, you could clip on different words (or die-cut shapes, like snowflakes) and floral accents throughout the year for a more versatile wreath! “Love” for V-Day, “Spring” for Spring, “Boo!” for Halloween, etc. Even “Grats!” to celebrate an achievement in the family!

  17. Just wanted to let you know that I featured this today on FTF! Grab a featured button if you would like one and don’t already have one! Thanks and Merry Christmas!!

  18. Pingback: Friday Favorites… so many! - I ♥ naptime | I ♥ naptime

  19. Pingback: Great Ideas -- *Holiday* Wreaths

  20. Pingback: Friday Favorites… so many!

  21. If some one wishes expert view regarding blogging and site-building afterward i suggest him/her to
    pay a quick visit this blog, Keep up the good job.

Leave a comment