Tutorial Tuesday: Pilgrim Placecards

Here is an easy to do Thanksgiving decor idea:

I made a few of these over the weekend to experiment with the idea and I’ll definitely be making more!

VERY EASY!

Materials:

  • Clay Pots (I got mine from JoAnnes)
  • Black Spray Paint
  • Black Chalkboard Paint
  • Yellow felt for buckle (or yellow construction paper)
  • White Ribbon (or even white paper strips would work)
  • Chalk (to write names on when finished
  • Craft Glue

Directions:

  1. Spray paint your pots black.

(The above pic is from halfway through spray painting the pots)

2.  Use your chalkboard paint and go over the top part with this paint (where ever you think you’ll write the person’s name). Follow directions on your chalkboard paint bottle, most require at least two coats and a wait time of 24 hours before you write on it.

3.  While waiting for your paint to dry, cut out a square out of your yellow felt, and a smaller square in the middle.

4.  Measure your ribbon length to go around your pot.

5.  Glue on your ribbon and yellow buckle! I used hot glue, but I recommend craft glue, as my hot glue didn’t work so well under the ribbon.

6.  Write your names on the pot and now you have some cute place cards for your Thanksgiving dinner table!

I was also thinking these would look cute just as a decoration in the mean time, so I wrote my three kids names on these ones and have them on my mantle for now!

Visit thecsiproject.com

Linked to Today’s Creative Blog; These Creative Juices; A Silly Little Sparrow; All Thingz Related; The Pumpkin Patch; Lucky Star Lane; Creative Itch; Delicious Ambiguity; Hope Studios; New Nostalgia; Sugar Bee; Creations By Kara; Sew Much Ado; My Backyard Eden; Someday Crafts; Me and My Bucket; The Shabby Chic Cottage; Somewhat Simple; Fireflies and Jellybeans; Ponytails and Fishscales; It’s Sew Stinkin Cute; House of the Hepworths; Black Kats Design; Life As Lori; Fingerprints on the Fridge; Fun to Craft; The Shabby Nest; Finding Fabulous; Frou Frou Decor; A Little Lovely; I Heart Naptime; Kuzak’s Closet; Under The Table and Dreaming; Skip To My Lou; Keeping It Simple; The Girl Creative; Sumo’s Sweet Stuff; Chic On A Shoestring; Brambleberry Cottage; Cheap Chic Home; Paisley Passions; Craft-O-Maniac; Craftaholics Anonymous; Between Naps On The Porch; Coastal Charm; Tales From Bloggeritaville; Making The World Cuter; Mad In Crafts; Tidy Mom; Just A Girl; It’s So Very Cheri; Beyond the Picket Fence; A Few of My Favorite Things
This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Tutorial Tuesday: Pilgrim Placecards

  1. Brianne says:

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!

  2. Kelly says:

    So very cute!! I must make these!

  3. Brandi says:

    Even I can make these! So cute!

  4. Karena says:

    Cute, cute, cute!!

    Come and see my latest find, would love your comments, I will also have a new giveaway soon!

    Xoxo
    Karena
    Art by Karena

  5. ~k says:

    These are adorable! I’ve never used chalkboard paint, but it looks like so much fun!
    Found you from the Fall Frenzy Linky Party.

  6. Judy says:

    What a cute and clever idea! Love this!

    Judy@cutest-little-things

  7. These are darling! Iam going to make them with my preschoolers for our Thanksgiving Feast with their parents. 🙂

  8. What a fun idea for Thanksgiving dinner!

  9. These are really cute! It might be cute to make a big one too for flowers as a centerpiece!

  10. Megs says:

    These are such a good idea! Who would have thought that clay pots would make such cute pilgrim hat placecards?!

  11. Patty says:

    These are great! I think I have most of the supplies for these in my stash! Perfect!

  12. Abby says:

    These are to cute and love the simplicity of them 🙂 I might have to make them for Thanksgiving this year

  13. I love those! So clever!!

    Thanks so much for linking up to The CSI Project this week!

    ox
    Jen

  14. April says:

    Oh my goodness! This is such an adorable idea! I am so glad you linked up!

  15. mom2fur says:

    Oh, my gosh, those are really cute!

  16. Marsha says:

    Love this idea- very original! You are so smart!

  17. Stopping by from Picket Fence to say that these are adorable!

  18. Dawn says:

    What an adorable blog! I don’t see a place to follow you, I would love to!

    Hope you will visit us anytime at Just Married with Coupons

    Happy Thursday!
    -Dawn

  19. What a cute idea, I ❤ those little flower pots.

  20. Robyn says:

    These are SO cute! I think you will like my Mayflower centerpiece that I just created!

  21. jacque says:

    Love this idea, i’m sharing on my blog today 🙂

  22. Adrienne K says:

    OHMYGOSH!!! These are so adorable!!! I love them!! I agree with Dawn, I’d love an RSS feed to this page for my home page.

  23. Lisa says:

    What a clever idea for placecards. This would be a great Thanksgiving project to do with my children!

  24. Sarah says:

    Just darling. I immediately thought of the black paper cups I have left over from our classes’ Halloween party. Is there a kind of yellow colored pen that will show up on these cups which probably have a waxy coating, I’m guessin? Your version is much classier, but I’m trying to live in reality… hee hee!

  25. Becca says:

    OH MY GOSH! I love these so much! This is a great idea! I’d love it if you’d come link this at my linky party. Every Friday I host Home and Family Friday.

    Becca
    becca-homeiswheremystorybegins.blogspot.com

  26. Pingback: NO WAY! | Jellybean Junkyard

  27. Janet says:

    I think it’s so fun that you used chalkboard paint so you can write on them, what a clever idea! I love the fact that they could be stored and used year after year.

  28. Tiffany says:

    This is really cute. I love a good tablescape and place cards are always a big part of it. Great idea that’s totally do-able.

  29. Christy says:

    I absolutely LOVE these! I’m adding them to my list FOR SURE!

  30. Such cuteness! Great idea and tutorial.

    I’ll be featuring you on Tuesday. Thanks for sharing at My Backyard Eden!

  31. Super Cute Karly! I featured these today – stop by and grab a featured button if you like! Thanks so much for linking to The Sunday Showcase – I greatly appreciate it. Hope you have a wonderful week! ~ Stephanie Lynn

  32. Anne says:

    Cute! I love chalkboard paint.

  33. Chelsea says:

    Thanks you so much for linking up to Felt Week! I love the placecards you made. I hope to see you again at Crafters Anonymous Club!

  34. Thanks so much for linking up to Passion for Paint. Hope you’ll stop by again soon. Have a wonderful week!

  35. cutest thing I have seen all day! LOVE THIS IDEA. LOVE!!! jen

  36. Marilyn Holeman says:

    Just visiting from BNOP. I think this is darling! I was wondering what it would look like to have the pot saucer underneath to give it more of a “brim.” What do you think?

  37. I love this idea! I’m featuring this as part of my Chalkboard Paint Inspirations today. Thanks for sharing!

    Betsey at b.bar
    http://www.bybbar.blogspot.com

  38. Pingback: Thanksgiving Table Decor, Tree Craft Project and Black Friday « Savvy Mommas – Austin County

  39. Pingback: Monday crafts! « the paquettes

  40. Pingback: Creative Thanksgiving Table Place Card Ideas - Baby Gizmo

  41. Pingback: Creative Thanksgiving DIY Ideas - Creatively Crafting

  42. Pingback: Creative Thanksgiving Table Place Card Ideas | Baby Gizmo

Leave a comment