Tutorial Tuesday: Sweater to Scarf, Cowl, What-have-you

These neck cowl’s seem to be very popular this season!

What is a neck cowl?

Basically a scarf sewn into a circle.

I’ll show you how to make one today using an old sweater!

You know…the one that’s been sitting in your closet. Unworn. For years.

Yes, grab that one.

Lay it out flat, and cut just below the arms like so:

I’ve mentioned that I sew in my garage, stuffed into the corner, right? So bare with me on the bad lighting in these pics!

Then, cut it up the side on one of the seams and lay it out flat:

Fold it over lengthwise, right sides together:

Use a zig-zag stitch to sew up the length of the scarf and across ONE of the ends.

Turn so it is right side out and fold in the end that you did not sew:

This next part is your choice. You can have it look like a normal circle like this:

OR you can twist it once so it ends up looking like this (this is what I did):

Once you have decided what you like (twist or no twist), tuck the end that you DID SEW into this other end opening, matching seams:

Make sure if you want the “twist” look, that it is still there when you tuck in the end!

Then, use a zig-zag stitch to sew them together. This hardly shows up on a chunky sweater, so don’t be too worried that you will see the stitching.

That’s it!

I’m going to make some rosettes and pin them on, depending on the season and/or what mood I’m in!

Linked to Today’s Creative Blog; These Creative Juices; A Silly Little Sparrow; All Thingz Related; The Pumpkin Patch; Lucky Star Lane; Creative Itch; Delicious Ambiguity; Hope Studios; New Nostalgia; Sugar Bee; Creations By Kara; Sew Much Ado; My Backyard Eden; Someday Crafts; Me and My Bucket; The Shabby Chic Cottage; Somewhat Simple; Fireflies and Jellybeans; Ponytails and Fishscales; It’s Sew Stinkin Cute; House of the Hepworths; Black Kats Design; Life As Lori; Fingerprints on the Fridge; Fun to Craft; The Shabby Nest; Finding Fabulous; Frou Frou Decor; A Little Lovely; I Heart Naptime; Kuzak’s Closet; Under The Table and Dreaming; Skip To My Lou; Keeping It Simple; The Girl Creative; Sumo’s Sweet Stuff; Chic On A Shoestring; Brambleberry Cottage; Cheap Chic Home; Paisley Passions; Craft-O-Maniac; Craftaholics Anonymous; Between Naps On The Porch; Coastal Charm; Tales From Bloggeritaville; Making The World Cuter; Mad In Crafts; Tidy Mom; Just A Girl; It’s So Very Cheri; Beyond the Picket Fence; A Few of My Favorite Things
This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tutorial Tuesday: Sweater to Scarf, Cowl, What-have-you

  1. Eliana says:

    so cute!! I wish I could use something like that in Florida!

  2. Clever! I have some old sweaters that I need to try this with.

  3. Good sweater project for Fireflies and Jellybean’s challenge.

    I like this -might make one for myself!!

  4. i adore this. in fact, i just pulled a few old sweaters out to use for sweater pumpkins, but i will certainly set one aside for this. can’t wait! good work!

    -dani

  5. That’s a great reuse for old sweaters. And believe me, I have plenty of ’em. 😉 Thanks for the tutorial, and for linking to my party.

    Blessings,
    Liz @ the Brambleberry Cottage
    http://thebrambleberrycottage.blogspot.com

  6. Marissa says:

    Great idea! I was just trying to figure out how to add a cowl collar to a shirt and this is even better. Now I can have a cowl neck with more than one top! Thanks for sharing!

  7. This is cute and easy. Good thinking for how you put it together. I like both variations, too.

  8. Becky says:

    I am loving htese. Need to make some this weekend, snow is a coming! Thanks for linking up to Beyond the Picket Fence.

  9. Jenn says:

    That looks so cute and cozy!! I am not a sewer but this looks like a good first project to try! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  10. great idea.
    come link it up with us here
    http://www.finecraftguild.com/diy-tutorials-party-17/
    so our readers can find you also!

    new party every wednesday
    so keep those great (recycling) diy craft tutorials coming!!
    love the style of this item!

  11. Amber says:

    Easy and looks great!!

  12. Laura says:

    What a great idea! I love it!

    This week is my blog anniversary and I’m hosting a week’s worth of great giveaways. Feel free to stop by if you’d like!

  13. Julie says:

    I like how you used this sweater for this and then the Turkey pillow. Yep, I noticed. I’ve been reading lots of your posts and waiting to find the perfect on to comment on. Really there has been tons to comment on. Like taking your kids fishing where you use to go. I did that with Mike in lots of things, our fishing pits, camping spots, hiking spots and the little places my sister and I use to hide. We live just a country next door to where I grew up and it’s just perfect for Mike to grow up here. Well really he’s grown up, he’s 18 already.
    You don’t have a follow button so I subscribed to your site.
    Take care and have a blessed weekend. Enjoy the beautiful family of yours. God Bless!!!

Leave a comment