Rain, Rain Go Away

I don’t know about you, but as much as I love the cooler fall weather and chilly winter days ahead, they kind of scare me.

I get cabin fever easily.

I must get out at the very least once a day.

Unless I have the house to myself, which is NEVER. But, if I did, I would curl up on my couch with my great-grandma’s quilt, a good book, and read, nap, read, nap….something like that.

This is why I could never live where it snows or rains a lot.

I can feel my Minnesota relatives shaking their heads in disapproval as they read this.

So, my fear of being inside inspired me to create a list of randomness to do in your house this season, and if you have something to add to it, leave me a note in the comments section! (Links have been added for sites where some of these ideas came from).

  1. Build a fort. I remember the days of doing this with my siblings. We would have multiple rooms, doors…we thought we were amazing! Easiest way to do this for me (since my kids knock forts down WAY to easily) is to clear off the kitchen table and drape huge blankets over it.
  2. No Sand – Sand Box
    Use a LARGE plastic storage tub ~ 22″L x 15″W x 12″L
    with the snap or flip top lids. Fill the tub half way with 
    rice, flax seed or oats. Use spoons cups etc. for playing. 
    Place the tub on a surface that is easy to sweep.
    Clean up is a cinch, simply close it up and sweep. 
    No sandy shoes, hair or pockets.
    Tips:
    Flax seed can be purchased at a health food store in a 20# bag. Rice however is half the price. Oatmeal is fun, but a bit messier  and may cause your floor to be slippery. Rotate the filling now and then, to add to the exploration and for sanitary reasons.
  3. Family Movie Day/Night: This is a favorite for my kiddos. I grab tons of blankets, sprawl them out all over the floor with pillows. Make some popcorn, turn off the lights, etc.
  4. Rain Sticks: Kids can create this fun craft that mimics the rainy day outside. Gather up a paper towel tube, crayons, tinfoil, masking tape, dry rice, and a long pipe cleaner. Have your child color and decorate the paper towel tube. Next, fasten tinfoil to one end with masking tape. Coil the pipe cleaner and fit it into the tube, along with the rice. Secure the other end of the tube with tinfoil and tape. Your child’s rain stick is now ready to make soothing rain sounds!
  5. I don’t have a dog. But, if I did I would do this: Scavenger Hunt with Your Dog: If you happen to have a furry friend in your family, include him in your rainy day adventures. Hide doggy treats in puppy-friendly places, and see if Fido can sniff out all his hidden surprises. Time his progress and see if he can beat his record on the next rainy-day scavenger hunt.
  6. Cook with your kids! A family favorite recipe maybe?
  7. Break out the board games!
  8. Dance Party: My kids love when I turn up the music, clear some space, and have a dance party. They like it even better when I break out some glow stick and turn off the lights!
  9. Hide and Seek
  10. Read a book: Maybe your favorite when you were a kid!
  11. Make your own Playdough/Fruity Putty: Mix a 3-ounce package of sugar-free fruit-flavored gelatin, 2 cups flour, 1 cup salt and 4 tablespoons cream of tartar in a pan. Add 2 cups boiling water and 2 tablespoons cooking oil. Stir over medium-high heat until the mixture forms a ball. Place the ball on waxed paper to cool. Store in an airtight container. Use different flavors to make different colors and smells.
  12. Organize Your Toy Stash: This never fails! I dump everything in the middle of the room, create a “keep”, “trash”, or”donate” area. The kids discover old treasures to play with while you get organized!
  13. Make a CD of your kids reading books! My parents have old cassette tapes of us reading books when we were little that are so much fun to listen to now as an adult. Or, read the books yourself to play at night time in your kids want “just one more story!” I’m not very tech savvy, but if you can figure out an easy way to do this onto CD I would love to hear how you do it!
  14. Have a toy swap with your neighbors! Actually, I want to do this with women’s clothing!
  15. Build a card house!
  16. Have an indoor picnic.
  17. Make paper airplanes and see which one flies the farthest!
  18. Make paper bag puppets. Easiest way to do this is to use a brown lunch bag sack and the flap at the bottom becomes the face and mouth.
  19. Play Charades
  20. Make your own puzzle: Have your child draw a picture and then cut it into puzzle pieces!
  21. ABC Scavenger Hunt: Find something in your house that begins with an “A”, then”B”…you get the idea.

Okay, it’s your turn now! Let me know what you’ve come up with to beat the boredom!

This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rain, Rain Go Away

  1. DEBBIE says:

    Your Minnesota relatives would be proud!
    Nap, Read, Nap, Read was most appealing to me.

  2. Jaime says:

    i put them in the front room, lock the door and then watch desperate housewives and other mommy shows i tape. i do throw in some food and water in between shows.

  3. Lisa says:

    Indoor obstacle course…set up chairs, pillows, etc., throw balls at them while they run through it, time them while they do it, etc. (think Assault from American Gladiators). I had 4 of my nieces and nephews one rainy day and this kept them occupied for quite some time : )

Leave a Reply

