Caramel Corn

As fall is fast approaching, I thought it would a perfect time to share a YUMMY caramel corn recipe!

This is a fun one to invite your kids over when you add the baking soda to the mixture (think fourth grade volcano science project).

DIRECTIONS:

**DO NOT pre-heat your oven (don’t ask me why, but don’t do it)

1. Pop 8 quarts of popcorn (and I mean home-made popping here….none of that microwave stuff. To do this, get a quart sized sauce pan with a lid, some kernels and canola oil. Put just enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan and place two kernels in the pan. When those two pop, your oil is hot enough. Pour enough kernels in pan to cover the bottom of the pan,place lid on, and wait for the magic to happen. You will need to do this several time to get the amount of popcorn you need). For making the caramel corn, I usually spread the popcorn out on a few baking sheets.

2. You could NOT make caramel corn and just melt some butter in the same pan and pour it over your popcorn, add some seasoned salt, and eat it up!!!!! Trust me, “yummy in my tummy” (thanks Coookie Monster).  

3. If you want to make the caramel corn, this is your next step!!! In a saucepan (larger than you think for the rising action that will take place later), combine the following:

  • 1/2 lb (2 sticks) of butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tarter
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white karo syrup

4. Bring to a roiling boil and then continue to let it boil for 5 minutes, stirring constantly.

5. Take it off the heat and stir in 1 teaspoon of baking soda. WARNING: Get your kids! This will make the mixture RISE and they always think this is sooo cool! The first time I did this, I didn’t use a big enough pan and the mixture went all over my oven……..not good.

6. Pour the mixture over the popcorn and mix it up.

7. Turn on oven to 200 degrees and bake the caramel corn for 20 minutes. Then, take it out, stir and mix it up, and put it in again for 20 minutes. Take it out AGAIN, stir and mix up, and place back in oven for 20 more minutes.  (Total baking time is 1 hour).

8. Let cool and enjoy!!

Note: Sometimes I place it on wax paper and break it up. Sometimes I don’t.  Depends on my mood!

Linked to Today’s Creative Blog; These Creative Juices; A Silly Little Sparrow; All Thingz Related; The Pumpkin Patch; Lucky Star Lane; Creative Itch; Delicious Ambiguity; Hope Studios; New Nostalgia; Sugar Bee; Creations By Kara; Sew Much Ado; My Backyard Eden; Someday Crafts; Me and My Bucket; The Shabby Chic Cottage; Somewhat Simple; Fireflies and Jellybeans; Ponytails and Fishscales; It’s Sew Stinkin Cute; House of the Hepworths; Black Kats Design; Life As Lori; Fingerprints on the Fridge; Fun to Craft; The Shabby Nest; Finding Fabulous; Frou Frou Decor; A Little Lovely; I Heart Naptime; Kuzak’s Closet; Under The Table and Dreaming; Skip To My Lou; Keeping It Simple; The Girl Creative; Sumo’s Sweet Stuff; Chic On A Shoestring; Brambleberry Cottage; Cheap Chic Home; Paisley Passions; Craft-O-Maniac; Craftaholics Anonymous; Between Naps On The Porch; Coastal Charm; Tales From Bloggeritaville
This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls, Recipes, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Caramel Corn

  1. Kelly says:

    This caramel corn is pretty amazing, but nothing can beat Drew’s Caramel Corn 🙂
    You’re welcome Andy et al!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Yummy. I LOVE carmel corn. I will have to give this recipe a try.

  3. Love the ‘Junkyard Blog’! OK, even tho it was, like, 90 today, I am so in the fall mood for this decalicious corn! Yum!

  4. Kristi says:

    I’m soo making this over the weekend (if I can ditch this cold). Found you through Frugalicious Friday. I’d love it if you’d come by and link this up at Foodie Friday.

    ~ The Speckled Dog
    http://thespeckleddog.blogspot.com/2010/09/foodie-friday-no4.html

  5. OK, just made a batch of ‘Junkyard Jack’ (minus the peanuts!) Miraculous: all ingredients were in the galley! It turned out great: thanks!

  6. My family would love this! Thanks for sharing this great caramel corn recipe with us at Anything Related!
    {Rebekah}

  7. Lorie says:

    It looks yummy, but now I totally want to figure out why you don’t preheat the oven!

  8. Tracie says:

    Wow! This looks delicious! I love carmel corn and your pictures and description has made me have a craving for it! Off to search for some, or make it! : )

  9. Kathy says:

    I’m a sucker for carmel corn. I use my air popper to make the popcorn. Will have to try this one. Sometimes I like the gooey kind you don’t bake too. They’re all yummy though.

  10. This sounds delicious – I’m planning to make it tomorrow, and for our annual Halloween party. One question – what is the cream of tartar for? Can I leave that out or is it essential?

  11. Kristi says:

    I’m making this right now and I can’t wait for it to be done. I pre-heated the oven, though. 😦

    ~ The Speckled Dog

  12. Lori S. says:

    YUMMY!!!! Carmel popcorn is one of my ALL TIME favorites! I am going to have to give this a try. Thanks for sharing on Thrilling Thursday!

  13. lolly jane says:

    saw that delish pic on paisley’s link party and it was YOUR recipe. looks yummy, never made it but am bookmarking it for halloween! 🙂

  14. Hilary says:

    Great recipe! My mixture didn’t rise when I added the baking soda though! Not sure why but it still turned out great. Thanks 🙂

Leave a comment