Feeding Five

I’m not a fan of making dinner.

Desserts?

Anytime.

Feeding a family of five and finding something that everyone will eat isn’t easy.

I have a great girlfriend, Brandi, that sent me an amazing roast chicken recipe that is SO EASY, you need to try it out. 

EASY. I promise. CHEAP. And oh, so YUMMY.

1 chicken (ours is usually around 6 lbs.)

1/2 onion coarsely sliced  

2 cloves garlic, crushed (I actually use pre-crushed garlic in the jar)  

Salt, Pepper, Garlic Salt

Rinse chicken, remove neck, giblets, etc. and pat dry with a paper towel.

Lay a strip of aluminum foil in your crock pot with enough that it’s sticking out the top. 

Place onions and garlic on the foil and place the chicken on top, breast side up.

Take some of the onions and garlic and put them inside the chicken.  

Sprinkle liberally with salt, pepper and garlic salt (do not add any liquid).

Cover and cook on low for 4-5 hours. 

Toward the end, give the breast a little slice to see if the meat is cooked and the juices run clear. The skin will not brown in the crock pot so don’t let that throw you off.   

Once the meat is cooked, use the aluminum foil to lift the bird out of the pot and into a shallow baking dish. Broil for 8-10 minutes to get a nice brown/crunchy skin.

Dinner is served!

There was plenty for all of us, with some leftover. Chicken salad? Sandwiches?

The verdict: My hubby and the girls devoured it and had seconds. Then there’s Griffin. What happened to him in the womb? How can he not be a carnivore like his mommy?

Oh well, I guess I still haven’t found a dinner that pleases everyone. Don’t worry about him. He ate the sweet potatoes that accompanied the dinner. 

And no, I didn’t make him anything else to eat. I decided a long time ago that I’m not a short-order cook. It’s just not in my genes. Mommies – this is not cruel and unusual punishment. It’s sanity. He can eat a big breakfast in the morning.

Now, go make dinner for your family! You won’t be disappointed.

This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feeding Five

  1. Amy says:

    I’m putting that on the menu for next week. Agree with the no short order cook- in our house it is the dinner I fix or Cheerios.

  2. Brandi says:

    Thanks for the props 🙂 It’s a staple around the Lopez house! Dinner for 4 and less than $10…sold!
    Love you!!!

  3. Gina says:

    Thanks for the recipe…can’t wait to try it.

  4. andrea wallace walker says:

    Hi Karly!

    I saw your blog on FB… so fun! Thanks for the great recipe ! I am always looking for easy crock pot recipes!

    BTW I love reading blogs!

    Have a great weekend!

    🙂
    Andrea

Leave a comment