Tutorial Tuesday: Rain Gutter to Book Shelf!

My kids are always knocking books off of our more traditional bookshelf so they can see the covers of the book.

I thought that there HAD to be a better way!

I can’t believe how EASY and INEXPENSIVE this project was!

I got this idea over at Mama Notes and thought it was soooooo smart!

Yes, the people at Lowe’s though I was crazy when  I came in with 3 small children asking where the rain gutters were.

They asked me if I was doing it myself.

“No, I’m making bookshelves!”

Blank stares ensued.

I moved on.

I opted for the vinyl rain gutter.

It was 15 feet long and I knew that I wanted to cut it in half to make two shelves (although a long one for our playroom might be next!).

So, I bought four end caps.

Total cost: approximately $12!!!

First, I cut the rain gutter in half using a hack saw.

I then hot glued the end caps on to make sure they were extra secure.

I had red spray paint at home already (these were going in my son’s room), so I gave it a few coats. I have seen many people leave them white, so you can always skip this step!

Waited impatiently for it to dry.

Then, using a stud finder, I marked a few points on the wall. Since it was going to hold books, which get heavy, I wanted it to be securely screwed into the wall.

I drilled a few pilot holes, screwed it in, and viola!

An awesome bookshelf!

He has bunk beds, so I put one on the top bunk and one on the lower bunk.

Seriously, this project is really easy and even easier if you decide not to paint them!

Linked to Today’s Creative Blog; These Creative Juices; A Silly Little Sparrow; All Thingz Related; The Pumpkin Patch; Lucky Star Lane; Creative Itch; Delicious Ambiguity; Hope Studios; New Nostalgia; Sugar Bee; Creations By Kara; Sew Much Ado; My Backyard Eden; Someday Crafts; Me and My Bucket; The Shabby Chic Cottage; Somewhat Simple; Fireflies and Jellybeans; Ponytails and Fishscales; It’s Sew Stinkin Cute; House of the Hepworths; Black Kats Design; Life As Lori; Fingerprints on the Fridge; Fun to Craft; The Shabby Nest; Finding Fabulous; Frou Frou Decor; A Little Lovely; I Heart Naptime; Kuzak’s Closet; Under The Table and Dreaming; Skip To My Lou; Keeping It Simple; The Girl Creative; Sumo’s Sweet Stuff; Chic On A Shoestring; Brambleberry Cottage; Cheap Chic Home; Paisley Passions; Craft-O-Maniac; Craftaholics Anonymous; Between Naps On The Porch; Coastal Charm; Tales From Bloggeritaville; Making The World Cuter; Mad In Crafts
This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Tutorial Tuesday: Rain Gutter to Book Shelf!

  1. Kelly says:

    GENIUS! It doesn’t even look like a rain gutter. What a great idea!

  2. Jenn Byrns says:

    Great idea… I think I might just have to do this when I’m finished painting the boys room. Thanks for the idea..

  3. Debbie Barlow says:

    Okay- This idea is really clever. I guess I better up my game so I can compete with you!

    And I loved the UCLA blog yesterday too.

  4. lolly jane says:

    i need to get motivated and do this. my kids are obsessed with books…esp throwing them all over the floor when they’re done. maybe if they assisted in makin the shelf they’d clean more? doubt it but it sure looks cute! new follower. (:

  5. What a cute and smart solution. I like that you painted it red, too.

  6. Tracy says:

    Don’t you just LOVE rain gutters!! I used them in my craft/guest room to house all of my ribbons (I *may* have an obsession with ribbons by the spool…) – it works beautifully and definitely looks like a piece of moulding!

    Great idea on the bunk bed for holding books. FAB!

    xoxo – Tracy.

  7. So smart!! What a great idea. They are so functional, and are still so great looking. What an awesome combination!

    Great job!

  8. Katrina says:

    LOVE IT!!! What a great idea! And Tracy’s suggestion for ribbons…my life might now be complete.

  9. Rain gutter bookshelves rock! I will be highlighting this at somedaycrafts.blogspot.com today. Grab mY “featured” button.

  10. Brilliant! My girls have bunk beds, and they always have books in them! I have got to try this out!

  11. Amie says:

    This is so creative! I would have loved one of these when I was younger in my bunk bed with my sister, I always had a huge stack of books I was reading. Great work!!

  12. Lori S. says:

    I have been wanting to try this idea! Thanks for the GREAT tutorial! Thanks for sharing your “creative mojo” with me on Thrilling Thursday. I hope you will be back again soon 🙂
    ~Lori S.
    Thrilling Thursdays @Paisley Passions

  13. Amy says:

    Very creative idea!

  14. Corinna says:

    I have seen this idea somewhere and was just telling my 10-year-old daughter the other day that we should install one on her bedroom wall to hold all her mini scrapbooks I’ve made for her. But I also like the idea of having one up by her top bunk to hold books she’s currently reading in bed or her Nintendo DSi!

    Corinna

  15. Kathleen says:

    Ridiculously brilliant! Now I’m trying to figure out how many to put in the playroom. Thanks for the inspiration.
    Glad to have found you on the friday follow!

  16. This is the best idea for kids! Wish I had known about it when mine were little. Book were everywhere!

  17. Kelly W says:

    I have always loved this idea. My kids too have bunk beds and I never thought about putting them there. Visiting from Be Different…Act Normal’s show and tell.

  18. Well, I’ll just be danged! Just when I thought I’ve seen about everything here you come with rain gutters! I’m laughing because the guys @ Home Depot used to just shake their heads at me with my projects. Now they’ll wonder why I want a rain gutter!

    Would love for you to stop by tomorrow and link it up to Passion for Paint. (If you don’t mind yet another linky party 😉

  19. Monique says:

    What a great idea! And it looks fantastic! Great job!

  20. Johnna says:

    Such a great idea! I can’t wait to try this!

  21. Tammy says:

    You are so smart! I LOVE this!

  22. Rob O. says:

    I stumbled across a website several weeks ago that featured this simple project, so we gave it a shot and installed a couple of rain gutter bookshelves in our son’s room. They look nice and work great for oversized books that didn’t fit in his storage cubbies.

    I bought a 10′ section of vinyl rain gutter and cut it in half to make two 5′ shelves. I opted to add a center support bracket for good measure – which only added about $3.50 to the project (bringing the total tab up to about $16). I used three of those little plastic drywall anchors to ensure that each shelf is firmly attached to the wall. The only problem I had was in finding an adhesive to glue the endcaps in place. I tried SuperGlue and Gorilla Glue neither of which seemed to grab on at all. But reading that you had success with hot glue, I’ll be giving that a shot next. But really, even without the endcaps glued on, they’re fairly secure.

  23. Thanks so much for linking up to Passion for Paint. Hope you’ll drop by again soon with another great paint project!

  24. It’s such a hoot, when we gals go to home improvement stores and purchase items for our “remakes”. Are these guys really sooo black and white that they can’t see beyond an items marketed use? LOL

    Your shelf looks great, and I’m sure the kiddos are happy being able to see all their books at once.

    Thanks for linking to my party. I would love to have you join me each week.

    Liz @ the Brambleberry Cottage
    http://thebrambleberrycottage.blogspot.com/

  25. Anji* says:

    This is such a cool idea! It looks great!

  26. Skooks says:

    I’ve had this idea in the back of my brain for a long time. Just waiting for my little guy to transition to a big boy bed and then the book shelf gutters are going up. You did a great job on yours!

Leave a comment