Tutorial Tuesday! A little birdie told me…

A long time ago I saw a picture in a magazine of bird decor for a child’s room. I would love to give the magazine credit, so if you know where it was, let me know!

It was well over $100.

No chance I was going to purchase that, especially when I could do it myself!

Here is what you can create TODAY in a few easy steps!

If you can’t tell from the picture, the tree branch is not flat…it’s 3-dimensional.

Here’s how you can do it:

1) Go on a walk in a place that has some tree branches.  Note: If you have kids, this can be fun or not such an easy step! Good luck with that!

2) Pick a branch that goes off in different directions and one that you think would be a good size and shape for your wall.  (I am not advocating the destruction of trees, but if it looks like that tree might benefit from a little tree trimming…….I’m just sayin’).

3) Go to your local craft store and pick up a bird feeder and some little birds that match your color scheme! I got mine at Joann Fabrics. The birds have little clips on their feet. This made it easy to just clip them onto the twigs I wanted them to “perch” on.

4) Hang it up! This might be the most tricky part (besides the walk with your kids). I used some thin nails and went straight through the branch at the thick parts and then put a few nails for some of the twigs to rest on. I nestled the bird house in a place I thought it would sit the best and put a nail in the wall directly above it. I then wrapped the string that comes out the top of the bird house around that nail. 

5) Clip your birds on the twigs of your choice and you’re done!

The total cost of this project was under $10!

Have fun!

(Make sure to post your projects or link back to my blog when you use this idea)

Linked to Brambleberry Cottage; Today’s Creative Blog; These Creative Juices; A Silly Little Sparrow; All Thingz Related; The Pumpkin Patch; Lucky Star Lane; Creative Itch; Delicious Ambiguity; Hope Studios; New Nostalgia; Sugar Bee; Creations By Kara; Sew Much Ado; My Backyard Eden; Someday Crafts; Me and My Bucket; The Shabby Chic Cottage; Somewhat Simple; Fireflies and Jellybeans; Ponytails and Fishscales; It’s Sew Stinkin Cute; House of the Hepworths; Black Kats Design; Life As Lori; Fingerprints on the Fridge; Fun to Craft; The Shabby Nest; Finding Fabulous; Frou Frou Decor; A Little Lovely; I Heart Naptime; Kuzak’s Closet; Under The Table and Dreaming; Skip To My Lou; Keeping It Simple; The Girl Creative; Sumo’s Sweet Stuff; Chic On A Shoestring

Visit thecsiproject.com

This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls, Tutorials and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tutorial Tuesday! A little birdie told me…

  1. Amy says:

    That is seriously impressive- it looks really nice!

  2. Chris says:

    What a fun display. Way to make it your own so inexpensively.

  3. 3-D art is so much better than vinyl art anyway! I’d love for you to link this up to my weekend Art Therapy link party. Hope to see you there!

  4. Shayleah says:

    This is such a cute idea, and frugal too! Thanks so much for sharing!

  5. Tammy says:

    This is so pretty! Visiting from The CSI Project.

  6. Sandy says:

    This is such an interesting project. I can think of doing this for my sideboard wall – just need to get someone to work the hammer and nails !

  7. Terrell says:

    These are terrific!! Just love ’em!
    ~Terrell @ Frou Frou Decor~

  8. Anna Sams says:

    Thanks for sharing! I think it is just beautiful! Anna @ Moon River

  9. Allison says:

    How pretty!

    I wanted to let you know about Atticmag’s new linky party – Giveaway Friday! It’s a convenient place for bloggers to link their giveaways each week. We’ve kicked it off with a fantastic giveaway of our own. Five lucky winners will win material to do a backsplash in their homes. Hope to see you there!

    Allison
    Atticmag

  10. Camie says:

    This is pretty cool…I love it.

  11. Kara says:

    LOVE this!!!

    Kara @ Mine for the Making

  12. Samantha says:

    I’m over from the Tatertots and Jello wrap up party. What a cute project. I love that it’s 3D. Great work! Have a wonderful weekend

  13. Ruth H. says:

    This is absolutely darling! My mom loves birds…she would really like something like this. I’m so impressed. Thanks for sharing your creativity.

  14. That is a great idea, I love how it looks on the wall!

  15. Tanya says:

    How precious! I absolutely love it! You’re a smart girl!

  16. What a super idea! We are so glad you joined us for Anything Related! Come back tomorrow for another great party!

  17. Cheryl says:

    Really cute and I love that it’s 3-d!!

  18. Crystal says:

    Very pretty. I love the 3-D elements.

  19. How cute is that! I love 3-D art on the walls. Very creative. Thanks for linking to my blog party with your creation.

    I have three blog parties weekly and would love to have you join one, or all, each week.

    Liz @ the Brambleberry Cottage
    http://thebrambleberrycottage.blogspot.com/

  20. I love it! It’s a playful but natural element for a kid’s room. Nicely done!

    I too have been inspired by nature and picked up a twig while on a walk with the dogs. The husband thought I was crazy when I came back inside and said, “Look, art!” Anyway, I ended up displaying it above my kitchen cabinets, and I think it looks pretty good.

  21. maggie says:

    I luv that idea, but how would you clean it from dust?
    Thanks
    Maggie
    http://cuttingabove.blogspot.com

  22. Adorable idea! Having the real deal on the wall would look amazing. Love your birdhouse details too!

    Donna

Leave a comment