Tutorial Tuesday: Christmas Countdown Subway Art

Having a kid with the stomach flu reminds me of having a newborn.

Lack of sleep.

Constant worrying.

So far, my four-year-old is the only one to come down with it.

Although I might have just jinxed it.

Why is she talking about the stomach flu?

I came here to see the tutorial!

Well, I was saving this one for a little later, but taking care of a sick kid meant I couldn’t get anything else done to write a tutorial about. My poor boy has had back-to-back illnesses for three weeks now!

This was already complete, so here you go!

My sister and I made this by priming and then painting a piece of plywood red. Always, always prime your wood first! I know it may seem like a useless step, but I have had cute pieces ruined for all sorts of reasons because I skipped priming the wood!

Using our Silhouette Machine, we cut out different Christmas words we liked and used Mod Podge to glue them on. Then, we did another layer of Mod Podge on top of the letters.

To finish it off, we painted a circle using chalkboard paint so we could write in the days until Christmas!

Hope you like it!

Visit thecsiproject.com

Linked to Today’s Creative Blog; These Creative Juices; A Silly Little Sparrow; All Thingz Related; The Pumpkin Patch; Lucky Star Lane; Creative Itch; Delicious Ambiguity; Hope Studios; New Nostalgia; Sugar Bee; Creations By Kara; Sew Much Ado; My Backyard Eden; Someday Crafts; Me and My Bucket; The Shabby Chic Cottage; Somewhat Simple; Fireflies and Jellybeans; Ponytails and Fishscales; It’s Sew Stinkin Cute; House of the Hepworths; Black Kats Design; Life As Lori; Fingerprints on the Fridge; Fun to Craft; The Shabby Nest; Finding Fabulous; Frou Frou Decor; A Little Lovely; I Heart Naptime; Kuzak’s Closet; Under The Table and Dreaming; Skip To My Lou; Keeping It Simple; The Girl Creative; Sumo’s Sweet Stuff; Chic On A Shoestring; Brambleberry Cottage; Cheap Chic Home; Paisley Passions; Craft-O-Maniac; Craftaholics Anonymous; Between Naps On The Porch; Coastal Charm; Tales From Bloggeritaville; Making The World Cuter; Mad In Crafts; Tidy Mom; Just A Girl; It’s So Very Cheri; Beyond the Picket Fence; A Few of My Favorite Things
This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Tutorial Tuesday: Christmas Countdown Subway Art

  1. Brandi says:

    Adorable. BTW…you’re super woman for blogging…I’m sure you have barf somewhere in your hair right now 😉

  2. Alan says:

    I like that you are so creative with “our” silhouette machine.

  3. Tonnia Williams says:

    Love this subway art. What a neat way to count down the days.

  4. This is cute! I love all the words you added to it! I have a chalkboard frame I made that I’d love to do something like this with. But I will have to probably write the words since it’s all chalkboard already. 😉 Thanks for linking up at Trendy Treehouse

  5. Dana says:

    That is awesome! I would love for you to come link that in my Strut Your Stuff Party! http://danajeanward.blogspot.com/2010/11/strut-your-stuff-party.html

  6. I LOVE THIS!!! So cute. My children would love this. I need one of those machines!

  7. OMG this is fantastic! I need one of these…but first I think I need to get a silhouette machine! Great idea. Thanks for sharing.

  8. marni says:

    I love it! I found you over at the blog hop! Come by Sassy Sites! xoxo

    http://www.sassysites.blogspot.com

  9. Crystal says:

    That is adorable and I love the chalkboard idea.

  10. Heather says:

    another very cute project!!

  11. Adding the chalkboard circle is just brilliant I tell ya! It’s so cute.

  12. Lizzy says:

    I’m visiting from Cheap Thrills Thursday…what a great idea to use chalkboard paint to make a space for the number countdown! I just may borrow this 🙂 Beautiful subway art piece too!

  13. lisa holman says:

    Love this!

    Take care,
    Lisa

  14. Kristen says:

    oh this is adorable! If you have a chance come link up next week at Ladybug Blessings Handmade Tuesdays! http://www.ladybug-blessings.com

  15. Kelly says:

    Wow! I love it! The chalkboard circle is brilliant – what a great way to do a countdown but have some cute art too!

  16. Stacy says:

    How clever is that! You used 2 of my current favs, my Silhouette machine and chalkboard paint!! LOVE it!

  17. claire rose says:

    So cute- love the subway art chalkboard christmas countdown-so creative and very inspiring!

  18. This is great! The chalkboard circle is genius!

  19. Ashlie says:

    Visiting from Be Different . . . Act Normal link up. Such a cute idea. I’ve seen LOTS of Subway Art, but nothing quite so clever. Love it! Thanks for sharing!

  20. Joy says:

    This is adorable! Thanks for sharing and linking up at Fantabulous Friday!

  21. Allie says:

    This is SO cute! I love that you get to write the days till Christmas! Genius! I hope your flu didn’t go too far!
    Thank you for linking up to Making It With Allie! I can’t wait to see what you have for next week!
    AllieMakes.Blogspot.com

  22. Oh my heavens – I LOVE this!! What a fabulous idea! Found you through Skip to my Lou…

  23. MONICA says:

    love love love this!! you are one talented lady!!!

    xo
    monica

  24. Denise says:

    LOVE this!!! I wiill attempt one soon. Thank you so much for the idea, even with the sick children. Linking thru the Girl Creative link party. Would love for you to visit me at my blog and follow if you like.

  25. alice says:

    love this subway art. i am going to try this without the silhoutte (love to have one).

  26. Alese says:

    I blog over at http://www.2crafty4myskirt.blogspot.com/ and I just wanted to let you know that today I posted a round up of Christmas Countdowns. I featured this project in the round up. Please let me know if you are not ok with that and I will remove it from the post! Thanks!

  27. Pingback: Great Ideas -- Holiday Edition {1}

Leave a comment