Christmas Pillows on the Cheap

Here is a money saving tip!

Have you seen the cute pillows at Target that are $12.99 each?

Have you also seen that matching placemats can be purchased for $3.99?

Buy 3 of the placemats instead and follow this easy tutorial!

Use a seam ripper to open up a small section on the bottom of the placemat.

Stuff with stuffing (I had this already, but this can be purchased cheap, especially if you have a coupon).

Sew it back up!

You get 3 Christmas pillows for the price of one!

Linked to Today’s Creative Blog; These Creative Juices; A Silly Little Sparrow; All Thingz Related; The Pumpkin Patch; Lucky Star Lane; Creative Itch; Delicious Ambiguity; Hope Studios; New Nostalgia; Sugar Bee; Creations By Kara; Sew Much Ado; My Backyard Eden; Someday Crafts; Me and My Bucket; The Shabby Chic Cottage; Somewhat Simple; Fireflies and Jellybeans; Ponytails and Fishscales; It’s Sew Stinkin Cute; House of the Hepworths; Black Kats Design; Life As Lori; Fingerprints on the Fridge; Fun to Craft; The Shabby Nest; Finding Fabulous; Frou Frou Decor; A Little Lovely; I Heart Naptime; Kuzak’s Closet; Under The Table and Dreaming; Skip To My Lou; Keeping It Simple; The Girl Creative; Sumo’s Sweet Stuff; Chic On A Shoestring; Brambleberry Cottage; Cheap Chic Home; Paisley Passions; Craft-O-Maniac; Craftaholics Anonymous; Between Naps On The Porch; Coastal Charm; Tales From Bloggeritaville; Making The World Cuter; Mad In Crafts; Tidy Mom; Just A Girl; It’s So Very Cheri; Beyond the Picket Fence; A Few of My Favorite Things
This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Christmas Pillows on the Cheap

  1. Dana says:

    OMG! I was just there and saw the whole line. What a GREAT idea. Also, I made the white bean chili yesterday- delish! AND yesterday I visited the links connected to your award, so fun. Congrats on the award as well- you deserve it!

  2. Kelly says:

    Genius!!!! What a great way to get cute pillows – and 3 for the price of 1 – LOVE IT! I saw these at Target and just couldn’t justify spending that much on 1 pillow that would be in my house for 1 month out of the year. But now I can do it with the place mat! YAY!!!!

  3. emily says:

    LOVE this idea!!! I just found your blog and am looking forward to trying all the fun ideas you share!

  4. Carol says:

    This was just a shear genius moment! Thank you so much for sharing.

  5. Your idea is awesome! I am going to Target today!
    Thanks for sharing!!!
    carla louise
    http://www.ohsewaddicted.com

  6. heather says:

    such a great idea!

  7. Dana says:

    Great post! I would love it if you would link this up to my Strut Your Stuff Party! http://danajeanward.blogspot.com/2010/11/link-up-giveaway-and-winner.html

  8. larsinnh says:

    How cute & thrifty! Now, if I could only sew…

  9. Allison says:

    That is FABULOUS! Love it!

  10. Seriously, girl. You really do have the BEST ideas! Thanks for sharing them with people like me WHO DO NOT have these sort of inspirational ideas!

  11. Nanette says:

    I love this idea…but to make it even easier for us that have no storage space, I think I’ll buy some right after Christmas and make them into pillow cases that open in the back…so I can easily slip my regular decorative pillows into these cute cases. I simply cant store pillows in the attic, but there is always room for flat pillow cases!

  12. Barb says:

    Hi
    Just wanted to let you know that I “ Featured” you on Santa’s Gift Shoppe Blog Hop today for your great project & inspiration! Be sure to grab the “I was featured” on Santa’s Gift Shoppe Button/Code for your sidebar! You deserve it! Thanks so much..If you’re not a follower already we’d love for you to join us…
    Barb

  13. Amie Irwin says:

    These are soo stinkin adorable! What a great way to get the most for your dollar too! Hope you’ll share with my Pink Hippo Party @ http://pinkapotamus.blogspot.com/2010/11/pink-hippo-party-5.html

  14. Cute, cute, cute! I haven’t even looked at Target’s Xmas stuff yet!

  15. Becky says:

    Placemat pillows are the best–thanks for linking up!

  16. Babsmadeit says:

    I HAD to go to Target today and get these placemats. They are on sale for $3! Thanks for the tip!

  17. Seriously, this is brilliant. I need a sewing machine, bad. I just bought the snowflake pillow yesterday but I’m taking it back because it’s the wrong red… doesn’t match my other stuff.

    Thanks for joining my Flaunt it Friday party. I’m your newest follower. 🙂

  18. marni says:

    So cute! I would love for you to link this up to our Sassy Christmas party- Christmas with FABRIC! 🙂

    http://sassysites.blogspot.com/2010/12/christmas-with-fabric.html

  19. Sam says:

    Hi! I’m a new blogger and to get started, I’ve featured your Christmas project on my page. This is a great project! Thanks – have a great week!

    Sam
    http://samscrafthouse.blogspot.com/

  20. I love it! You are just too clever! What a great way to save.

    Blessings,
    Liz @ the Brambleberry Cottage
    http://thebrambleberrycottage.blogspot.com/

  21. Megan says:

    Are you kidding me, this is a fantastic idea! You are genius! I am now a follower, I can’t wait for other great ideas from you!

    Megan

    http://1funkywoman.blogspot.com

  22. Hi!
    I did a pillow cover version of this, and several of my readers emailed me with “OMG, come look at this!” I like the combination of all three together, it’s incredibly festive, and it was a pleasure to find you!

  23. Pam says:

    To my credit, I saw your post before the holidays, was inspired to buy the reindeer place mat at Target…and just discovered it buried on my craft table today, nearly a month after Christmas. Sigh. I made the pillow anyway and tucked it away with my decorations for next year!

  24. Pingback: 19. Pernă de Crăciun

  25. Pingback: I’m so far behind I think I’m first

Leave a comment