Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe

Have I mentioned that my BFF Brandi is an amazing cook?

That she has yummy EASY recipes that you can throw together?

This is delicious and smells good all day as it cooks in your crock pot. I have a big fluffy heart for crock pot recipes….

NEED:
2 frozen chicken breasts
1 (15 ounce) can diced tomatoes
1 (10 ounce) can enchilada sauce (I use mild b/c I want my kiddos to eat it too….although they still don’t eat it….hmm….)
1 medium onion, chopped
1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chile peppers
2 cloves garlic, minced (or 1 tbs jarred garlic)
2 32 oz “carton” of chicken broth
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 bay leaf (I never use this, but don’t tell Brandi!)
1 (10 ounce) package frozen corn
1 can rinsed black beans

My addition: If I have some squash or zuchini on hand, I throw that in there too.

DIRECTIONS:

Place frozen chicken, tomatoes, enchilada sauce, onion, green chiles, and garlic into a slow cooker. Pour in chicken broth, and season with cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, and bay leaf (or not a bay leaf). Stir in corn and beans. Cover, and cook on Low setting for 6 to 8 hours, before you serve shred the chicken with a fork and garnish w/cheese, tortilla chips, sour cream & avocado!

Yup! That’s it! Enjoy my friends!

This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe

  1. DEBBIE says:

    Sounds Delicious!

  2. Kim FB says:

    She can do wonders with marscapone cheese.

  3. Amanda says:

    Thanks for sharing! It’s in the crockpot! 🙂 and smells GREAT! Can’t wait for dinner!

  4. andrea wallace walker says:

    Yummers! Another great recipe for the crock pot it:

    White bean chili
    4 frozen chicken breasts
    4 cans of white kidney beans (sometimes I put in a can of black beans in place of 1 can of cannelini beans)
    2 cups of chicken broth (I forgot this last time and liked it better = thicker chili)
    1 jar of salsa (a big one:)
    season with oregano, chili powder and I also add some red pepper flakes

    Cook all day in the crock pot and than shred the chicken… serve with corn chips and sour cream.

    My friend Kate also sticks a block of cream cheese in for the last hour… I have not tried this. I appreciate that this is low fat and tastes yummy!

  5. Amy Junge says:

    Yum! I’m trying this soup this week, plus the bean one. THANKS!

  6. Brandi says:

    Totally trying the white bean chili next! I LOVE my crockpot 🙂
    Kim… don’t forget it’s really the prosciutto that brings out the richness of the marscapone. 😉

  7. Rob O. says:

    While you’re in the crock pot cooking mood, be sure to try some taco soup! It’s super easy and tastes great! We usually make a double batch and freeze half for later. This is perfect for cold, dreary days but when you’re a little burned out on chicken dishes or chili.

Leave a Reply

