Sandwich Stuck

I’m working on something that I am VERY excited to give a tutorial about tomorrow, so make sure to come back to see it!

 

So I know that we’re not that far into the school year yet.

But, my oldest is already starting to complain about PB&J or the turkey and cheese sandwich that are her typical lunch staples.

Today she asked me to make her, what she calls a “Miss Stephanie Sandwich”.

That’s because when she has lunch with her friend, this is what her mommy makes.

I thought I’d share with all of you in case you’re in a sandwich rut like me!

*Bread (for this one, I use white bread because wheat just doesn’t seem right)

*Whipped cream cheese (because it’s easier to spread)

*Turkey

That’s it!

Just spread on the cream cheese, slap on the turkey, and you’re good to go!

Help a mom out and if you have ANY creative ideas for the lunch box let me know in the comments section below! THANKS!

This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sandwich Stuck

  1. Brianne says:

    Tanner always insists on soup when it’s a cold or rainy day…. if I haven’t made some recently, I just open up a can, nuke for a minute, pour into the thermos, throw in an apple, maybe some string cheese, and drink….DONE! Takes me less than two minutes and he loves eating something warm on those ugly cold days, and it’s something different 🙂

    PS I too alternate pb&j with turkey & cheese…..also, sometimes it’s a just a little something to change it up that he likes….every once in awhile instead of using whole wheat sandwhich bread, I use bagel thins or a french roll as the bread, add some avocado, and for pb&J sometimes add a banana….and then on Fridays I always insert a little treat like a chocolate chip cookie. Just a little something different sometimes makes the biggest difference. 🙂

  2. Jodi says:

    I suggest using fillings that you know she likes but putting it in different types of breads such as pita bread or wrapping it in a flower tortilla. Also cutting the bread out in different shapes or just eating the turkey and cheese on crackers instead of bread.

  3. Rob O. says:

    My little guy hasn’t gotten to the point of asking for different sandwiches yet, but I do try to mix it up a bit to introduce new tastes & textures. He loves bologna (yuck!) and cheese sandwiches (with ketchup, no less) so sometimes I toast the bread so it’s crunchy or make it like a grilled cheese sandwich instead so it’s kinda crunchy, but also gooey with melted cheese inside.

    And for whatever it matters, I’m really against cutting crusts off of sandwiches.

  4. Tracy says:

    This is the best blog for ideas – I wish I had it in me to make lunches like this – but girl, if anyone does – YOU do!!

    http://www.anotherlunch.com/

    xoxo

  5. Brandi says:

    I was surprised to find out that JT loves egg salad, especially on sweet hawaiian rolls. Its a treat when he gets any sandwich on those rolls. Last week I tried to mix it up for him and made chicken salad with celery and raisins…he came home and asked that I never make it again! Sometimes trying something new is a hit, sometimes its a miss!

  6. Jaime says:

    turkey and cheese rolls in a tortilla, taquitos, the mini pizzas from trader joes and spaghetti and meatballs (one of sammi’s favorites). of course only if i made it the night before for dinner. oh fried rice is a favorite for her too. henry will make a batch for her and she will eat it the whole week.

  7. Kelly says:

    Remember mom used to make up peanut butter, honey, apples and bananas on bread? I remember loving it!

  8. Brandi says:

    Oh yeah, and a banana in a hot dog bun with peanut butter. That’s a huge hit. JT calls it banana hot dogs 🙂

  9. Ginny says:

    pack a toasted english muffin, pizza or spagetti sauce in a small leakproof container (I have a foodsaver so I just make little bags, fill them and then seal them up) and some shredded cheese and they can make their own pizza

  10. Mrs Smith says:

    Hi,
    My roommate in college started me on marshmellow creme and penut butter sandwiches and they are really good!! Yes they are better on white bread and not healthy at all but my husband and kids love them!!!
    Also another fav for my kids (ages 8 and 4) is Mexican Pinwheels (creme cheese w/ a pack of taco seasoning ~can chop blk olives if they like~and spread on tortillas roll up and put in fridge for several hours then chop up) great to dip in salsa!!! We also make them w/ chopped up turkey, ham, and cheese- or the veggie version.
    Good luck!

  11. Regina says:

    what a cute blog . . . i found it today b/c of your adorable give thanks board tutorial. you bettcha i’m going to be making one for us very soon!
    as for lunches . . . i have 1 who LOVES a simple cheese stick and crackers so i toss in a variety of crackers and change that up sometimes. he also loves for me to put some turkey & cheese in a tortilla and roll it up that way. our other son enjoys the roll up as well but no tortilla!
    hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

