What’s in a Name?

Long ago.

Before one could get anything and everything personalized.

There were these ever so popular blue license plates:

Well, it didn’t look exactly like this, but close enough (who knew it would be so hard to find an image of these classic 80’s plates?)

You had one on the back of your bike too, right?

All my siblings could find their names……

Then there was me.

Karly.

Nothing ever had “Karly” personalized on it.

No internet to order one up.

My mom found one that read “Carl” on it.

She got some yellow puffy paint, turned the “C” into a “K” with a simple line and then squeezed in the “Y”.

Thanks mom.

See where I get my craftiness? She also taught me how to sew.

Why am I writing this post?

Because I got all excited when my sister told me there was a new song out there with the name “Karly” in it!

Woot! Woot!

So, as I was writing this post all excited, I called her to ask the name of the song.

Me: Hey, what’s the name of that song you were taking about with “Karly” in it?

Sis: Oh, I looked it up and it’s “Carlene”, not “Karly”.

Me: Great.

And scene.

This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What’s in a Name?

  1. Brianne says:

    I SOOOOO feel you on that….nothing ever had Breezy or Brianne….traumatizing as a kid I tell ya.

  2. Debbie Barlow says:

    Thanks Honey, I still remember painting that on the license plate. You were VERY VERY upset about your name being different. I thought different was good. That is probably because I grew up with three other “Debbie’s” in my small grade school classroom. I wanted a unique name. Thankfully you have grown into your own specialness!

  3. Oh – that is so sweet that your mom fixed up your name plate for ya 😉 Sorry about the song though.

  4. Dana says:

    Trauma over names- indeed! I grew up with people telling me that Dana was a boys name and yes I went to La Paz Junior High with a boy named Dana. My mom would say “it’s too feminine to be a boys name”, but the song doesn’t go ‘A Boy Named Dana’.
    No bike license plate for me either! Oh the humanity!

  5. Katy says:

    Tell me about it! Katy with a “y,” nope. Kathryn…nope. I used to think my parents were horrible for making me spell my name differently!!

  6. Misti says:

    I got Misti with a Y and that was after I dropped the Ann. Yep try to find Misti-ann (and yes I was born in CA). I am soooo with you…..then I turned around and did it to my kid…..poor Saige 🙂

  7. Jess says:

    I was one of 3 Jessica’s in my class and I vowed that my kids would not!! have trendy names. My DD5 Gianna hasn’t realized that she has such a different name but I am sure that one day she will despise me for it.

  8. Brandi says:

    And NO Brandi with an I…always with a Y. You know how I feel about Brand…with a Y 😉

  9. Brandi says:

    BTW…every time I send you an email “Karly” is underlined in red…suggested replacements “Karl, Karle, Karla” in what world does “Karle” make more sense than “Karly”???

  10. If it’s any consolation, I think I wanted to name my first daughter “Karly” for years after meeting you and being so enamored with your “coolness”. Still haven’t had that girl yet …

  11. My parents thought the non-Jessica “Jessie” was better and more unique. However, not only did they only have boy stickers and license plates and pencils that said “Jesse” but I was constantly put on the boys’ soccer teams and things like that. Talk about traumatizing.

Leave a Reply

