What was your favorite lunch box?

I was all set for my first day of preschool.

I was excited….super excited!

Then, snack time came.

All the kids pulled out their lunch boxes with their snack in them.

Only I didn’t have one.

No lunch box, no snack.

My mom came and picked me up and I sat down on the grass and cried my eyes out.

My mom had planned on taking my twin sister and I to McDonald’s after our first day of preschool.

We went to but a lunchbox instead.

As a mom now, this story makes me laugh. She was trying to do something exciting for us and she ended up getting two crying kids……so typical!

So, my lunchbox was something similar to the pic above. I was sad I couldn’t find the exact image out there on the internet. And sad that they called it “vintage”.  That just makes me sound old.

Wondering about your favorite lunch box when you were a kid!

You know you had a cool tin lunchbox like mine!

Leave me a comment telling me what you had!

This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What was your favorite lunch box?

  1. Debbie says:

    As the mother of the twins mentioned above, I can still see the scene in my minds eye. And I think I have apologized a million times. And in my defense “preschool” was only 1 1/2 hours long and got out at 10:30am. I wasn’t told them needed a snack. And the lunch box I bought for you IMMEDIATELY after the lunch at McDonald’s (your favorite spot to eat) was much nicer than the one in the picture. Love you, please forgive me, Mom

  2. Alan says:

    I wish mine was just vintage. It would qualify for “antique” now. Let’s just say it was a TV western hero. They came with a real glass-interior Thermos in those days.

  3. Erin Daugherty says:

    Karly, Time to forgive your mom. BUT my fave is the old tin type too: A holly Hobby bicentennial 🙂

Leave a Reply

