Under The Stars

I love looking up at the stars at night.

One problem…..

Where I live.

Lights, lights, and more lights…….making it all too hard to see the stars.

When I heard there was going to be a meteor shower the other night, I let the kids stay up late.

We went outside and right away we actually saw a shooting star, meteor, whatever it was.

Hey, I love looking at them. I didn’t say I knew what all of them were!

So, my kids ran to our next door neighbors house and knocked on the door.

Sure, it was late. They were close to heading up to bed.

But, it was a meteor shower!!!!

They came out.

The kids got REALLY excited!!!

And then………..

Nothing.

The adults saw a few.

The kids saw nothing.

My youngest went inside and grabbed a microphone to serenade the event with Hannah Montana music (thanks to her older sister).

That was the highlight of the evening.

I’m sure my neighbors loved that I kept their kids up late as well for such an amazing event as staring up at the stars and seeing nothing.

Maybe next time we’ll head to a better location.

This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Under The Stars

  1. Erin Daugherty says:

    We are going to Yosemite next week and have an empty cabin! My parents cannot go and it’s paid for 🙂 hint hint

  2. Love that cute shot of the kids watching the sky. 🙂 Wish I had good neighbors to share stuff like that with. 🙂 Thanks so much for the visit today!

  3. You are a good mom- and really they were going to remember staying up late way more than any stars they saw.

  4. I came over from NFF…We stayed up for the meteor shower too! We had Little Debbie Star Crunch and Moon Pies. The show was the best in the wee hours of the morning – next time, I am going to put the kids to bed early, THEN wake them up for the meteor shower between 2-3 am:)

  5. Alan says:

    The next best meteor shower for us (U.S.) (named after the constellation from which they seem to appear) this year are:

    Geminids December 13th (early morning of the 14th) in Gemini, moonless night (!) http://www.eaas.co.uk/news/geminids.html

    Conditions will be best in a really dark place; like 93514.

Leave a Reply

