Tuesday Tutorial: Crayon Roll

                                                 

Ever sitting somewhere with your child and trying to keep them distracted?

I’m thinking the doctor’s office, waiting rooms, etc.

Waiting for one of your kids to finish whatever lessons they are currently taking and you have to sit there with your other children watching, waiting, watching, waiting, lollypop bribing them to sit nicely (not that I ever do that!)

Okay, that’s what I used to do before I made myself a crayon roll. 

Now, you can make one too!

These also make AWESOME and INEXPENSIVE Christmas presents (especially if you use left-over scrap material). Start thinking about it now so you can make a bunch of them for all those kids you have to buy for!

Materials:  I tend to use left-over scrap material, but use what you want!

  • 3   –   13″ x 5″ coordinating fabric
  • 1   –   13″ x 5″ one-sided fusible interfacing
  • 1   –   24″ piece of coordinating ribbon

 Directions:

  1. Cut pieces of fabric, interfacing, and ribbon according to sizes above. Two of the pieces of fabric will be your front and back main pieces. I used the same fabric for these (blue cowboy fabric) and chose a coordinating fabric for the other 13″ x 5″ piece that end up being the crayons pocket (the red fabric below).

  

2.  Iron the interfacing to the WRONG side of the front piece of fabric (the piece you’ll be sewing your crayon pocket onto).

3.   Fold the crayon pocket piece in half (for me, this is the red piece) with WRONG sides together and iron.

4. Place the crayon pocket piece onto the RIGHT side of the front piece (this is the one that you ironed the interfacing to earlier). Line up bottom raw edges.

5.  Start on the right side and measure in 1 1/4 inches. Mark sewing line. Then, mark every 3/4″ after that. If marked correctly, you will have 1 1/4 inch remaining when you reach the left side. You should end up getting 15 parallel lines.

6.  Sew parallel lines, making sure to backstich at top and bottom (this is to make sure the pocket doesn’t rip when your little ones and pulling the crayons in and out!)

7. Fold your ribbon in half and sew the folded edge to the middle of the right side of fabric. I also heat seal the ends of my ribbon at this point. To do that, take a lighter or a match and quickly go over the ends of your ribbon with the flame. This seals the ends so they do not fray.

8. Place the back piece (the only piece you should have left) onto the front piece with the RIGHT sides together. The ribbon should be laying in between the pieces of fabric!! I usually pin it down so it doesn’t get sewn into the seam on the next step.

9. Use 1/4″ seam allowance and stitch around all 4 edges, making sure to leave about a 2″ opening so you will be able to turn it right-side out.  I usually leave my opening on the bottom crayon pocket area.  Clip corners.

10. Turn right-side out by pulling the fabric through your seam opening.

11. Top-stitch your opening closed and stitch around all 4 sides about 1/8″ in from the edge.

13. Fill with crayons!

You can then roll it up and tuck it into your purse!

I let my kids color on the sheet of paper that they sit on while waiting for the doctor. You know, the one that gets torn off the exam table when you’re done? The doctor always comments on their pictures and it makes my kids feel comfortable with the doctor right away.

Please send me your pics of your crayon rolls you made so I can post them!!!!

This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls, Tutorials and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Tuesday Tutorial: Crayon Roll

  1. Megan says:

    Not talented enough to pull this one off, but I LOVE the idea of coloring on the paper on the exam table! Brilliant!

  2. Angie says:

    Yeah, I’m with you Megan. Another thing that I have found that is great for keeping crayons in in your purse/diaper bag is an empty Altoids tin. The perfect size and shuts tightly.

  3. Amy says:

    I love the colors that you used! What a nifty little roll to throw into your purse!

  4. I made ones for Emma and Mikey last year… they are great! I’ll try to remember to take photos…

  5. Terrell says:

    I love this!! It’s so creative and the perfect way to keep those little colors in place! 😀 I am your newest follower of your delightful blog and I hope you stop by Frou Frou Decor..I love new friends! I would also love to invite you to link up to my Fabulous Friday Finds party, every Friday! Hope to see you there!!
    Hugs,
    ~Terrell @ FFD~

  6. Patty Farris says:

    Are you planning on taking over for Martha Stewart when she retires?
    I think you are on your way to your own show……very talented!!!!!

  7. Christy says:

    Are you selling these? I may need to buy one…. or two! Anything that involves a sewing machine is way out of my league!

  8. Misty says:

    I made some of these for my kids last Christmas, and they LOVE them! Thanks for linking @Creative Itch’s “Sew Cute Tuesday”!

  9. Sara says:

    So cute and such a great idea to use this in the doctor’s office! I never thought about letting my son write on the paper in the room – definitely doing that next time!

  10. kristin says:

    that is so precious- i love it! fabulous idea!!!

  11. Polwig says:

    I love the fabrics. This could work with so many things, reminds me of artists painbrushes, or knifes for adult chefs.

  12. Terrell says:

    Thank you so much for linking this up at my party today!! Have a beautiful weekend!
    ~Terrell @ Frou Frou Decor~

  13. Alan says:

    Clever! Sure beats a beat-up box of loose pieces.

  14. Melanie says:

    I love it! Not that my son enjoys coloring, but it’s a great idea for gifts, thanks!

  15. Heather says:

    Hi! I found your site off of Today’s Creative Blog! I love your craft! You are so talented! I am your newest follower! Woo hoo! I hope you stop by my new blog. I just started it 2 months ago and would love new friends! Please come see me at http://www.modernfamilymagazine.com

    -Heather-

  16. Pingback: You can help me help them! | Jellybean Junkyard

Leave a Reply

