Crazy Family

I’m sure my family loves me calling them crazy.

But, that’s how I describe our family get-togethers these days. 

There are 7 grandchildren ages 5 and under.

Crazy.

Our 4th of July gathering started off great with my youngest in this mood:

Notice the sticker on her leg?

I have no idea how that got there.

We decided this year that we are now a large enough group to hold our own parade.

So, the kids decorated their bikes.

And off we went…

 When we got back to the house, this is what I noticed:

For reals.

I’m withholding his name for obvious reasons.

Anyone know what this is????

It’s a tennis ball cannon.

Yup.

A tennis ball cannon.

It’s my dads.  And, we shoot it off at family gatherings.

It’s been around for a LONG time. We use to shoot it off when I was a kid.

First of all, did you notice how old the cans are that created this contraption?

Let me tell you how this thing works.

You pour some lighter fluid into a little hole in the bottom of the cannon.

You then get a kid to put the tennis ball inside the cannon.

Yes, a kid.

Then, stick a lighter into the hole like so:

The tennis ball then shoots out of the cannon and into the air.

This year, we had a lot of duds.

Maybe it’s time to retire the cannon.

But then I wouldn’t get to capture two of my kids watching it like this:

Crazy families aren’t necessarily a bad thing.

Right?

Note: I am in no way advertising that you should try to re-create the tennis ball cannon. Do not try it at home!
This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crazy Family

  1. Angie says:

    Wish I could have been there with my 3 kiddos! Maybe some year in the near future. 🙂

  2. Patty Farris says:

    Wish we could have joined the fun…..We live too far apart:(
    The kids are sooooo adorable!
    Patty

  3. Christy says:

    I want to party with your family!

  4. Lorri says:

    My brother has something similar to that. It is made out of thick PVC pipe and he uses hair spray for the “fuel”. His is called a potato gun. Yes, it shoots potatoes. Why? I don’t know for sure.

Leave a Reply

