“They keep creating new ways to celebrate mediocrity”…

I heart this quote from Incredibles.

Kindergarten graduation.

6th grade graduation.

8th grade graduation.

Really?

High school graduation and College graduation are the only ones that I’m okay with.

Tonight is my oldest’s kindergarten graduation.

I’m not saying that I won’t be proud of her for finishing the school year and doing a great job. I even might tear up a little bit that I will now have a 1st grader!

Wait…the tears might be because that means I’m getting older.

It’s just that your supposed to finish kinder, sixth and eighth. When you get to the END of what your supposed to finish, then let’s have a graduation.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m all for “congratulations” for each school year finished. But, a full on ceremony?

At the very least this makes me reflect on her first day of school when I took this photo:

My oldest is soooo excited. Maybe because it’s her first day of kindergarten. Maybe because she gets a break from the healthy chaos in our house? Then, just look at the expression on my son’s face. Maybe he’s sad that his big sister is going to school and he isn’t. Maybe he’s sad because she get’s to leave the chaos and he doesn’t. And then there’s my youngest. She’s excited because she gets to sit in between the other two. Or maybe she’s excited that she has one less person to boss her around all day?

So, I’ll go to graduation.

P.S.  If you’re at the kinder graduation tonight, I’ll be the one with my camera, video camera, aunts, uncles, grandparents and cousins, with the biggest smile on my face because my baby girl just graduated!

This entry was posted in Jelly Rolls. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “They keep creating new ways to celebrate mediocrity”…

  1. Kim says:

    I think companies like Jostens will now boycott your blog because you will not be keeping the economy going in the area of size 6T graduation gowns.

  2. Debbie says:

    As much as I agree with you I had to look back and think Kindergarten was a big deal. Of all my grade levels — I do remember Kindergarten the most and I remember my four children starting and finishing Kindergarten. But a graduation ceremony? Nah.

  3. Jaime says:

    as a kindergarten teacher and mom, i couldn’t agree more. just plain silly! i forgot about that pic from the first day of school. awesome shot!!

  4. DJ says:

    Sounds like someone who is bitter because they didn’t graduate kindergarten.

Leave a Reply

