Tuesday Tutorial…Easy Chalkboard!

I’ve wanted to do a chalkboard project for quite some time, but I was afraid of painting my wall and then not liking it.

So I put it off.

It was just paint and could easily be painted over if I didn’t like it, so I don’t know why I put it off.

You can do this project two ways. I went the easy way (shhhh…it’s our secret!).

If you want to use chalkboard paint, you can find it in almost any color in any craft store or home improvement store that sells paint. If you want to make it a magnetic chalkboard, make sure to buy a separate magnetic paint and follow the instructions on the can.

I went the other route and used a vinyl roll wall decal that you can get here. I’m sure there are other places to get this; this is just the one I bought. It has a grid on the back of the decal so you can cut exactly what you want in a straight line.

Easy. And I’m all about easy projects.

Figure out the size you want your chalkboard to be.

Obviously.

I wanted mine to have frame around it to give it more of a finished look. I bought the frame I wanted first and then I knew how much I needed to cut off the roll. I took out the glass from the frame and set it aside (another project someday?). 

At first, I followed the instructions that came with the decal. You know, the directions that always say the “best way” to do it. 

How come it never ends up being the best way? 

So, DON’T follow the “best way” instructions. Instead, just stick it on your wall like a giant sticker! Then, smooth it out with a wet sponge or squeegee to get any air bubbles out.

Hang your frame around it, write out something fun and admire your work!

What are you going to write on it today? A favorite quote? Tonight’s dinner menu? Daily schedule? Let me know what you decided!

Fyi…There was plenty of the roll left over, so I think I might do this in the playroom. Maybe cut some fun shapes out of it first?

This entry was posted in Tutorials and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday Tutorial…Easy Chalkboard!

  1. Brianne says:

    So wait…no chalkboard paint? Just vinyl??? Or vinyl and then chalkboad paint?

    I’m in love with this idea! Like you, I’ve always wanted to do the chalkboard paint but too much of a chicken to do it. You’ve inspired me!

  2. Sue says:

    Cute Idea! Love it!

Leave a Reply

