MIA

Missing in Action….

That’s me.

So much has happened since my last post.

That sounds like a lame excuse that you hear everyday, but I really mean it.

My mom, 59 years old, passed away unexpectedly.

20120823-095719.jpg
(just a few months before with my son…at my twin sister’s wedding…yes, we had a wedding as well…..it’s been busy))

So, while I have been attempting to deal with that tremendous loss, I have thrown myself into new adventures.

One thing we always did growing up was camping.

So, we bought a travel trailer.

Always make expensive purchases when grieving.

That was a joke.

I don’t think that is the wisest thing to do, but then again, I never said I was wise!

Now, I can hear your inner thoughts.

They are saying, “A travel trailer? That’s not real camping.”

I say to those thoughts, “This is the ONLY way I could get my husband to go camping.”

So, we are camping. Spending time as a family. And loving it.

20120823-100037.jpg

BUT, I will not end this post without showing you something I worked on recently.

My girls have a “fashion” Paris type room thingy going on. I pretty much copied a little girl’s room I saw at my girlfriend’s house. I couldn’t help myself, I fell in love with it.

Anywho, my girls had a dresser in between their beds that hasn’t been re-done for maybe 20 years. It was in my house growing up for as long as I can remember.

I didn’t want to paint it out of pure laziness.

So, there it sat, in all it’s ugliness.

Until I discovered a map of Paris at Aaron Brothers.

$4.99.

For reals.

Who knew?

I love to mod podge.

I took the map, traced the dresser outlines onto the map, cut it into pieces, and went to work!

Now a good blogger would have taken a before pic.

I didn’t.

But, here is the after…

20120823-093939.jpg

20120823-094108.jpg

I also added some new pull handles.

More projects to come.

THANKS for sticking with me.

This entry was posted in Tutorials and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to MIA

  1. Brandi says:

    This made my day! That dresser looks awesome, you’re so creative!
    Love you!!!

  2. So sorry to hear about your mother!
    Your dresser makeover looks fabulous though!

  3. brianne b says:

    :). Fabulous! You, your blog, and the dresser….simply fabulous!

  4. nonnyk says:

    So very sorry to hear about your mother.
    My heart just hurts for you!!

    Wonderful dresser!! It looks fantastic!!

  5. Adrienne K says:

    You’re back!! I still have you in my RSS feed!!

    1- I’m so so sorry about your Mom. :( <3

    2- YEAH on the trailer! We have a tent trailer and I LOVE it. LOVE it. If you want some crafty ideas for your trailer, let me know! ;)

    • Karly Foster says:

      Yes please! Crafty ideas for the trailer always needed!!!! Thx for keeping me in your feed! Karly

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. Doreen says:

    Life goes full circle, even when we are not ready for it. You sound like such a strong woman, no doubt, who your Mother was very proud of!

  7. Misti-ann says:

    This totally made me think of when I was a kid & my mom mod pogded sunflowers (fabric ones) on my dresser because for some reason they were all the rage the coolest. It looks amazing.

  8. Megan says:

    Oh my heart goes out to you. As I read this tears are welling up and I’m not even sure what I’m typing. My mother was 58 when she passed unexpectantly and that was almost 10 years ago. Turns out she had lung cancer that none of us even knew about. She went in the hospital on a Thursday and died the next Thursday. I myself felt her leave us on Monday though.

    Anytime you want to vent to someone that knows your pain…I’m here! Love the dresser, you did a great job with that. My daughter who is 8 loves the Eiffel tower and all things Oaris!

    Well you take care! Hugs and prayers to you!

    Megan
    http://1funkywoman.blogspot.com

  9. Rob O. says:

    It’s especially hard when unexpected. Very sorry for your loss!

Leave a Reply

